thankful for…the mess

by mendibpng

toast
I spent a great deal of time away from the house yesterday so the messiness factor has increased to huge proportions…but I’ll be honest here, even if I were home, the amount of mess that comes from a family of seven (the two four year olds being the key instigators!) and dishes from cooking and eating seems to be a never ending battle I work with.
sink
I should even mention here that I have a wonderful house helper/friend come three times a week to help me, particularly with hanging up clothes, dishes, and cleaning the floors. So yes, even though there’s tons to do, I don’t have to do it all myself. And yet, it doesn’t take long for the house to look crazy minutes after Mama Hana has left.

A friend left me the book, “One Thousand Gifts” by Ann Voskamp before she went on furlough (thanks Cindy!) and something in there jumped out at me,

There is a way to live in the big of giving thanks in all things. It is this: to give thanks in this one small thing. The moments will add up.

and

Joy is the realest reality, the fullest life, and joy is always given never grasped. God gives gifts and I give thanks and I unwrap the gift given: joy.

If I didn’t have five kids (which sometimes feels like a lot!) I wouldn’t have this mess! So I’m thankful for the mess and for the people in my life who help me create it.

If I spent every waking minute cleaning, then I think perhaps I would have a clean house. The truth is, it’s not what I want to devote my life to. I would rather interact with my kids and friends–doing things I love (which happen to make messes, like cooking and doing crafts)

Below is a garland the twins and I made using washable markers, water and coffee filters–dead easy and really satisfying in the end. Our family wrote what we were thankful for on them during dinner the other night and came up with 61 things, one for each leaf the twins and I had made. Sure enough, it made a mess but we had fun so it was worth it.
garland
I do my best at keeping the home going, since this is my full time work right now. The kids do take more and more responsibility especially as they get older to help out…but in the end, I am trying not to sweat the small stuff. I just like the fact that I can give myself the freedom to walk away from it all and go for a play date and catch up with a friend.

That’s all. I’m thankful for all the chaos that my loved ones bring me because that means that they are here with me.

Tags: , ,

4 Comments to “thankful for…the mess”

  1. Great reflections, Mandy!! I remember the days with 3 and would marvel at my mom who dealt with 5!
    God is good – all the time!
    I am so greatful that at this stage in my life, I can wake up in the morning and say “Good morning, Lord. This is the day you have made. I will rejoice and be glad in it! Thank you for your peace!”
    It wasn’t always this way, but I am immensely blessed that it is now!
    Prayers for you, Ben and kids, and for the work you do for our Lord!

    • thank you Kay for stopping by! I really like the idea of waking up and telling the Lord that the day is His. 🙂 Thank you for your prayers!!

  2. Daughter, Let’s call your chaos “The beloved chaos!” And, as always, you and I as wives, mothers,and servants of The Lord
    can always remember that Christ is present…..even in chaos. Yes. The beloved, blessed chaos. xxxooo Mom/Oma

Leave a Reply

