My chains are gone…Amazing Grace!

by mendibpng

IMG_6989

I found myself praying this morning that God would help me become humble and reliant on Him amidst the chaos that I’m juggling. I often feel like I am not adequate for the tasks in front of me: missionary, wife, teammate, friend, and mother of five. They all seem to all be vying for space in my heart and mind.  In his book, “A Praying Life,” Paul Miller recommends coming to God like a little child, all messy. Our twins (pictured above) are four and full of questions and excitement over things. They don’t take time to form intricate sentences–they just speak whatever comes to their minds. They often ask us over and over again about things (and then some more). Their child-like joy spills out constantly. If you came over, they would show you their ‘babies’ (also known as little herb seeds sprouting on our porch) or the beetle that visited us this morning, who unfortunately ended up squished in Jacob’s excitement. Although there is a lot for us to teach them, they delight all of us in the cute things they say and in their playful approach to life. I think Miller was getting at this very thing. Sometimes I come to God stiff and formal-like, without thinking of Him as a father who delights in me, as Ben and I do with our children.

As I was praying, the wonderful song Amazing Grace, started playing in my head. I can’t remember ever not knowing this song–I heard it so often as a child. I have seven different versions of it on my computer but my very favorite is Chris Tomlin’s version, where he adds:

My chains are gone
I’ve been set free
My God, my Savior has ransomed me
And like a flood His mercy reigns
Unending love, amazing grace

The earth shall soon dissolve like snow
The sun forbear to shine
But God, Who called me here below,
Will be forever mine.
Will be forever mine.
You are forever mine.

In case anyone else is a visual learner, like me, and would like to see Isaac Newton’s original words, I am pasting them here:

Amazing Grace
Amazing grace!
How sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me!
I once was lost, but now am found; was blind, but now I see.

‘Twas grace that taught my heart to fear,
and grace my fears relieved;
how precious did that grace appear the hour I first believed.

Through many dangers, toils, and snares, I have already come;
’tis grace hath brought me safe thus far, and grace will lead me home.

The Lord has promised good to me,
his word my hope secures;
he will my shield and portion be, as long as life endures.

Yea, when this flesh and heart shall fail,
and mortal life shall cease,
I shall possess, within the veil, a life of joy and peace.

When we’ve been there ten thousand years,
bright shining as the sun,
we’ve no less days to sing God’s praise than when we first begun.

2 Comments to “My chains are gone…Amazing Grace!”

  1. When I was raising young children as you are now, the song “Are you Running with me ,Jesus!” often ran through my head. That was the way I prayed…knowing He was right along side of me…..when I felt some chaos in juggling all the roles. It’s grand that we can celebrate The Presence of Christ, not just every day, but each moment of each day.
    Enjoy it all, Mandy!

Leave a Reply

