Confessions of a missionary wife: bread making and being impatient

by mendibpng

noah

So last week I made English Muffins for the first time. Correction: second time. The first time I didn’t read all the directions (to grill on top of the stove rather than bake in the oven!) and so they turned out to resemble regular bread rolls. They were fine and we still ate them…but if I had taken the time to read all the directions they might have turned out better! This week a friend of mine sent me her English Muffin recipe and I decided to follow it by the book, except to multiply it by 3 because we consume so much food in a day. The muffins turned out good but I did wonder later, if I had let the dough rise the 2nd time, and if I had started them on lower heat (thus taking longer time to cook) would they have been even better? In general, I think my bread would always turn out better if I let the sponge (yeast, water, sugar) go a little longer, let the dough rise longer or leave it in the oven longer. I am in such a hurry to get to the next step!

My bread baking is really a reflection of my personality. I can be impulsive and quick to act without thinking, particularly when life seems overwhelming to me. There are too many things to accomplish in a day and my brain frequently feels like a ping pong table! In recent years and months, I’ve tried to take some lessons from others who take time to think about things before doing them. I’m not saying that I expect myself to be perfect but I do like to keep making progress in character issues, and this is one of my ‘biggies’. I love James 1:19 (New Living Translation)

Understand this, my dear brothers and sisters: You must all be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to get angry.

So for today, I’m praying for the grace to be quick to listen and slow to speak. Interestingly, when I do slow down enough to listen I find that there’s more opportunity to let God into my conversations. I’ve just gotta get out of the way.

One Comment to “Confessions of a missionary wife: bread making and being impatient”

  1. Oh, I love it when you quote the Letter of James, honey! Did you know that the “understand this” part can alternatively be read in the Greek text as a statement about the previous paragraph rather than a command about the following clause? Read this way, it would basically be an encouragement to the readers that they already know what James had just mentioned about the Father’s desire to give good gifts to his people, including the gift of new birth in order to be the firstfruits of those who live by the Spirit. You know this. So in light of that knowledge (or grace, as you mentioned in your post), be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to get angry. Yes Lord, thank you for your grace, and let it continue to rain on us in order that we might follow you in faith-full obedience.

Leave a Reply

