Life is messy

by mendibpng

Our second week in the village has nearly come to an end. Sure enough, we have progressed from the neutral zone of transition (where we feel like we haven’t settled in mentally/emotionally/physically yet) and now feel comfortable with our surroundings. Everything is better: school, cooking, just daily living. The translators began translating 1 Timothy. (yay!)

That brings me to my next thought: life is messy.

Several times during the week we have had rain, which brings endless fun to our children, which I wrote about a while back.  With the rain comes mud. But the upside is, we have plenty of water and less of those steamy hot sauna-like days as I like to call them.

Along with the physical mess we deal with from day to day, there is constant talking and commotion in our house from our family alone. Not to mention the dogs fighting outside our window or the rooster that just crowed underneath Beth’s house just now. Oh wait, there’s another one near the front of the house!

And finally, there is the emotional drain of dealing with translators who are sick (quite a few have fallen ill this week) and several culturally stressful issues. I cannot write about the culture stress publicly–the internet is now accessible in so many places, including here in the jungle (a cell phone company has come in now) but lets just say Ben could use prayer just about now for one of these issues! Because we are the outsiders, it is often difficult to foster healthy relationships in a place that sees us as a never-ending supply of aid…and not only that, we are an easy target if someone wants to show how important their problem is, even if their problem doesn’t involve us.

But all I have to do is look at the kids God gave us to realize that the messy life we live is full of blessing. Sure they are noisy, sometimes they fight and yes, they often have mud fights. One day I’ll look around my empty house and miss all of it. I am sure I will even think “it wasn’t as messy as I thought it was at the time!” It’ll just be Ben and me…all wrinkly and lonely.  So today I’m going to focus on the task ahead of me…that is…getting through the day. And I’m going to ask God to help me do it.

4 Comments to “Life is messy”

  1. Thanks Mandy for requesting those prayers today! And thanks to anyone who prayed. I’m so thankful to the Lord that the meeting I had today went really well. There couldn’t have been a better outcome. It’s good to know that we have a good partnership with community leaders and the local school administration.

  2. I don’t know, chickie. I’m not planning to be wrinkly OR lonely 🙂 #twoyearsawayfromtheemptynest (My first hash tag, and I don’t have twitter. That’s just the kind of trendy girl I am.) But I do plan on still being messy!!! Love ya

    • ah Kay, once again you know how to crack me up. 🙂 THANKS. I didn’t understand the hash tag thing until now–so that’s what those run on sentences are all about. Let me try…#only15yearstogountiltheemptynest. Three years ago we were 12 years away…Ben says we’re going backwards ha ha. 🙂

  3. WOW Mandy, i’m so proud of you, you are so resourseful! You were the first to show me ‘Caputo’s fresh market’. i STILL love going there, and miss you when I do! we have one closer now.. Valli foods” i see people from around the globe and love going there too. I will take you when you come again! the girls look so similar. beautiful pics. your mom-in-law told me about the blog, it was a hidden jewel for me till now! miss you and pray for you

Leave a Reply

