Are you weary?

by mendibpng

Tonight I heard Ben singing songs and reading a Bible story to the twins, and I thought about how wonderful it was that he was doing that while I cleaned up the kitchen. I literally haven’t read them anything today. After I cleaned the counters and mopped up the spills on the floor, I thought grumpily, “I’m just gonna have to do this again tomorrow.” I didn’t spend hours cooking today (that was yesterday!) but I did spend a lot of my waking hours taking the twins to use the potty.

It’s easy for me to go from being thankful for the abundance in my life to letting the mundane things of life overwhelm me. All it takes is one of the twins crying for a drink, and the other one pipes in…while they are crying, another child needs something and pretty soon it appears that all five of them need something at once. To be fair, school started last week so after 8:30 in the morning on school days all I have left at home are the twins.  Today, however, was a school holiday so all of the kids were home. One of my children (who will remain unnamed) began whistling. Another one left papers and trash in an area where I had just cleaned and all of my emotions started going haywire. With each annoyance, my internal frustration mounted. I thought to myself “I’m overreacting. What is wrong with me??” It finally hit me. I realized it was nearly 11:00 am and I hadn’t eaten anything!!  Funnily enough, when I started telling Ben the story at lunch, before I got to the epiphany, he asked “did you forget to eat?”  We both started laughing.

A little splash of grace came when a good friend of mine stopped by unexpectedly just as I finished making my omelet.  She’s the kind of person who doesn’t care about my messy house and really just came to see me. So when she showed up, I realized that having another adult to tell my ‘mundane’ story to made a huge difference in my outlook.

Here is the crux of the matter for me. It’s rather simple. Eating and sleeping are essential to me being a happy mother. When my basic self care measures are in place, I feel more equipped to deal with any adversity and yes, even silly things like whistling! I apologized to one of my kids, and I realized he had no idea what was tumbling around in this head of mine…I was a time bomb that nobody besides me knew about!  Added to the self care plan is just plain old thankfulness. If some small thing can send me spiralling into self pity, then one of those things or all of them are usually the culprit.

A friend of mine recently gave me a devotional called “Jesus Calling” that I would highly recommend to any mom of small children. I keep it in the bathroom because that is the one place I have at least a couple of minutes to myself every day. Here’s an entry I loved:

Rest in my presence when you need refreshment. Resting is not necessarily idleness as people often percieve it. When you relax in My company, you are demonstrating trust in Me. Trust is a rich word, laden with meaning and direction for your life. I want you to lean on, trust and be confident in Me.  When you lean on Me for support, I delight in your trusting confidence.

Many people turn away from Me when they are exhausted. They assoicate Me with duty and diligence, so they try to hide from My Presence when they need a break from work. How this saddens Me! As I spoke through My prophet Isaiah: In returning to Me and resting in Me you shall be saved; in quietness and trust shall be your strength.   (Sarah Young)

Proverbs 3:5, Isaiah 30:15

And with that, I’m heading to bed because I need to get three kids off to school bright and early tomorrow and get those twins to the potty every 15-20 minutes. Or I might take them to our lovely little daycare and start potty training again in the afternoon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

