“It Used To Be Just Me…”

by mendibpng

Since I’ve already put our most recent pictures up here, I thought I’d share one of our first family photos that included the twins. This was taken in the fall of 2009. (R-L Ben holding Jenny Beth, Ellie, Noah, me holding Jacob and Josiah)

As I planned this post, I thought “everybody is thankful for their family, aren’t they?” and “who is going to want to read another post about family?” I am still going to put this out here, however, because I think I need to say it ‘out loud’. I am grateful for my family. As I look at this picture here, I remember a time when there were just three of us.

This was our first missionary prayer card photo, taken in 1999.
It reminds me of the little song Ben wrote when Josiah was born:

It used to be just me
And then there was ‘we’
Now we’re a family
This makes me happy

Every Thanksgiving, I think about my parents and sisters and Ben’s parents and brothers and wish that we could be together for the holidays. The last time my side of the family was together was Christmas of 2008. Don’t get me started on my aunts, uncles and cousins–I miss all of them too!

I think about the twins and how much they are growing and long for just a few minutes to show them off to both sets of grandparents. Jacob would make them laugh with the way he mimics everything you say to him, and Jenny Beth would charm them with her little smile. They would enjoy watching Josiah play the song he wrote on his guitar, Noah dribble a basketball at one of his games, or Ellie create something beautiful with a paintbrush and paper.

As I was talking to my friend Brena this morning, I remembered how thankful I am that both Ben and I come from Christian homes. Both Ben and I learned godly principles from our parents that we carry with us and pass onto our own children. I am thankful that I have family to miss. All four of our parents are still living and are healthy. I am thankful for Ben and for the five beautiful children God gave us to love.

…and I look forward to heaven, when I can see my family all the time.

2 Comments to ““It Used To Be Just Me…””

  1. This is a great post about family. 🙂 It is so hard to be apart from our families. After I was sulking about a bit about missing my family, a friend mentioned how she missed talking to her mom, who passed away several years ago. It really put things in perspective for me. I’m so thankful that I can e-mail, Skype, and call my mom even though she’s on the other side of the world. Keep posting about your family. It has been neat to see them as they grow!!

    • Thanks Marcie, for this reminder. It is amazing that we can communicate so much easier than when we were little. I remember sending cassette tapes home to my grandparents and getting them back from them!! love you.

Leave a Reply

